2017-18 Public Health Programs Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2017
Date Day Description

August 15

Tuesday

Summer Session II classes end

August 21

Monday

Summer grades due

August 30

Wednesday

Last day to register without a $200 late registration fee

August 30-31

Wed-Thurs

New Student Orientation for MPH, HCOM and PREP students

September 1

Friday

Last day to withdraw from Fall 2017 with a full refund; a withdrawal from program form must be filed with the Office of Student Services. Refer to Student Handbook for Tuition Refund Policy.

September 4

Monday

Labor Day (University Holiday); Administrative offices closed.

September 5

Tuesday

Fall Classes begin/PHPD Registrar will accept Cross-Registration forms for elective courses; please speak with the Registrar regarding Fletcher courses

September 18

Monday

Last day for Fall course adjustments (add or drop without a "W")

October 9

Monday

Indigenous People's Day (University Holiday); Administrative offices closed; No classes

October 25

Wednesday

Last day to withdraw from a course and receive a "W"

November 6

Monday

Online Registration for Spring 2018 opens

November 7

Tuesday

Substitute Friday's schedule on Tuesday; No Tuesday classes

November 10

Friday

Veteran's Day (University Holiday); Administrative offices closed; No classes

November 22

Wednesday

No Classes

November 23

Thursday

Thanksgiving (University Holiday); Administrative offices closed; No classes

November 24

Friday

University Holiday; Administrative offices closed; No classes

December 8

Friday

Online Registration for Spring 2017 closes (Registration will continue via Add/Drop forms submitted to the Registrar's Office)

December 18

Monday

Fall classes end/Last day of classes

December 19-21

Tues/Wed

Make-up date for cancelled classes (due to University weather related closings). Re-scheduling will be made on a course-by-course basis at the discretion of the course director.

December 25

Monday

Christmas Day Observed; Administrative offices closed

January 2

Tuesday

Fall Grades Due

Spring Semester 2018
Date Day Description
January 1 Monday New Year's Day Observed.  Administrative Offices closed.
January 10 Wednesday Last day to register without $200 late registration fee
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King Day (University Holiday); Administrative offices closed.  No classes
January 17 Wednesday New Student Orientation for MPH, HCOM and PREP students
January 17 Wednesday Last day to withdraw from Spring 2018 with a full refund; a withdrawal from program form must be filed with the Office of Student Services.  Refer to Student Handbook for Tuition Refund Policy.
January 18 Thursday Spring Classes begin/PHPD Registrar will accept Cross-Registration forms for elective courses; please speak with the Registrar regarding Fletcher courses.
January 31 Wednesday Last day for Spring course adjustments (add or drop without a "W").
February 19 Monday President's Day Observed (University holiday); Administrative offices closed.  No classes.
February 22 Thursday Substitute Monday's schedule on Thursday (no Thursday classes)
March 8 Thursday Last day to withdraw from a course and receive a "W"
March 17 Saturday Spring recess begins
March 26 Monday Spring recess ends; classes resume
April 2 Monday Online Registration for Summer Session I & II and Fall 2018 opens
April 16 Monday Patriot's Day Observed (University holiday); no classes
May 4 Friday Online Registration for Summer I and Summer II closes (Registration will continue via Add/Drop forms submitted to the Registrar's Office) 
May 7 Monday Spring classes end/Last day of classes
May 8-11 Tues - Fri Make-up dates for cancelled classes (due to University weather related closings).   Re-scheduling will be made on a course-by-course basis at the discretion of the course director. 
May 14 Monday Spring grades due for graduating students
May 18 Friday Spring grades due for non-graduating students
May 20 Sunday Commencement

Summer Semester 2018
Date Day  Description
May 22 Tuesday Last day to withdraw from Summer Session I or Full Summer course (begins in Summer Session I and ends in Summer Session II) with a full tuition refund; a withdrawal form must be file with the Office of Student Services.  Refer to Student Handbook for Tuition Refund Policy.
May 23 Wednesday Summer Session I Classes begin
May 28 Monday Memorial Day (University holiday); Administrative offices closed.  No classes.
May 29 Tuesday Last day for Summer Session I course adjustments (add or drop without a "W")
June 5 Tuesday Last day for Full Summer course adjustments; these courses begin in Summer Session I and end in Summer Session II (add or drop without a "W")
June 6 Wednesday Last day to withdraw from a Summer Session I course and receive a "W"
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day (University holiday) Administrative offices closed.  No classes.
July 5 Thursday Substitute  Monday schdule on Thursday (no Thursday classes)
July 5 Thursday Last day of Summer Session I classes 
July 9 Monday Summer Session II Classes begin
July 16 Monday Last day for Summer Session II course adjustments (add or drop without a "W")
July 17 Tuesday Last day to withdraw from a full Summer course and receive a "W"
July 18 Wednesday Last day to withdraw from a Summer Session II course and receive a "W"
July 20 Friday Online Registration for Fall 2018 closes (Registration will continue via Add/Drop forms submitted to the Registrar's Office) 
August 16 Thursday Summer Session II classes end/Full summer courses end
August 20 Monday Summer grades due