2016-17 Public Health Programs Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2016
Date Day Description
August 16 Tuesday Summer Session II classes end
August 22 Monday Summer grades due
August 24 Wednesday Last day to register without $200 late registration fee 
August 31 & Sept 1 Wed - Thurs New Student Orientation for MPH, HCOM and PREP students
September 2 Friday Last day to withdraw from Fall 2016 with a full refund; a withdrawal from program form must be filed with the Office of Student Services; refer to PHPD Student Handbook for tuition refund policy
September 5 Monday Labor Day (University Holiday); administrative offices closed
September 6 Tuesday Fall classes begin; PHPD Registrar will accept cross-registration forms for elective courses; please speak with the Registrar's Office regarding Fletcher courses
September 19 Monday Last day for Fall course adjustments (add or drop without a "W")
October 10 Monday Indigenous Peoples Day (University Holiday); administrative offices closed; no classes
October 26 Wednesday Last day to withdraw from a course and receive a "W"
November 7 Monday Online Registration for Spring 2017 opens
November 8 Tuesday Substitute Friday's schedule on Tuesday; no Tuesday classes
November 11 Friday Veteran's Day (University Holiday); administrative offices closed; no classes
November 23 Wednesday No Classes
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving (University Holiday); administrative offices closed; no classes
November 25 Friday University Holiday; administrative offices closed; no classes
December 9 Friday Online Registration for Spring 2017 closes (registration will continue via Add/Drop forms submitted to the Registrar's Office)
December 19 Monday Fall classes end/Last day of classes
December 20-23 Tues - Fri Final Exam Period/Make-up dates for cancelled classes (due to University weather related closings); re-scheduling will be made on a course-by-course basis at the discretion of the course director
December 26 Monday Christmas Day Observed (University Holiday); administrative offices closed
January 2
Monday
New Year's Day Observed (University Holiday); administrative offices closed
January 3 Tuesday Fall Grades Due

Spring Semester 2017
Date Day Description
January 2 Monday New Year's Day Observed (University Holiday); administrative offices closed
January 4 Wednesday Last day to register without $200 late registration fee
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (University Holiday); administrative offices closed
January 18 Wednesday New Student Orientation for MPH, HCOM and PREP students
January 18 Wednesday Last day to withdraw from Spring 2017 with a full refund; a withdrawal from program form must be filed with the Office of Student Services; refer to PHPD Student Handbook for tuition refund policy
January 19 Thursday Spring classes begin; PHPD Registrar will accept cross-registration forms for elective courses; please speak with the Registrar's Office regarding Fletcher courses
February 1 Wednesday Last day for Spring course adjustments (add or drop without a "W")
February 20 Monday President's Day (University Holiday); administrative offices closed; no classes
February 23 Thursday Substitute Monday's schedule on Thursday; no Thursday classes
March 9 Thursday Last day to withdraw from a course and receive a "W"
March 18 Saturday Spring recess begins
March 27 Monday Spring recess ends; classes resume
April 3 Monday Online Registration for Summer Session I & II and Fall 2017 opens
April 17 Monday Patriot's Day (University Holiday); no classes
May 5 Friday Online Registration for Summer I and Summer II closes (registration will continue via Add/Drop forms submitted to the Registrar's Office)
May 8 Monday Spring classes end/Last day of classes
May 9-12 Tues - Fri Final Exam Period/Make-up dates for cancelled classes (due to University weather related closings); re-scheduling will be made on a course-by-course basis at the discretion of the course director
May 15 Monday Spring grades due for graduating students
May 19 Friday Spring grades due for non-graduating students
May 21 Sunday Commencement

Summer Semester 2017
Date Day  Description
May 23 Tuesday Last day to withdraw from Summer Session I or Full Summer course (begins in Summer Session I and ends in Summer Session II) with a full tuition refund; a withdrawal form must be filed with the Office of Student Services; refer to PHPD Student Handbook for tuition refund policy.
May 24 Wednesday Summer Session I classes begin
May 29 Monday Memorial Day (University Holiday); administrative offices closed; no classes
May 30 Tuesday Last day for Summer Session I course adjustments (add or drop without a "W")
June 6 Tuesday Last day for Full Summer course adjustments; these courses begin in Summer Session I and end in Summer Session II (add or drop without a "W")
June 7 Wednesday Last day to withdraw from a Summer Session I course and receive a "W"
July 3 Monday Substitute Tuesday's schedule on Monday; no Monday classes
July 3 Monday Last day of Summer Session I classes 
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day (University Holiday); administrative offices closed; no classes
July 5 Wednesday Summer Session II Classes begin
July 11 Tuesday Last day for Summer Session II course adjustments (add or drop without a "W")
July 12 Wednesday Last day to withdraw from a Full Summer course and receive a "W"
July 19 Wednesday Last day to withdraw from a Summer Session II course and receive a "W"
July 21 Friday Online Registration for Fall 2017 closes (registration will continue via Add/Drop forms submitted to the Registrar's Office) 
August 15 Tuesday Summer Session II classes end/Full Summer courses end
August 21 Monday Summer grades due