Ana Soto, MD, Appointed International Blaise Pascal Research Chair

Lab processes conducted in a chemistry experiment gloved hand and pipette

Professor of Integrative Physiology and Pathobiology Ana Soto, MD, has been selected for a 2013 Blaise Pascal Research Chair in Biology by the École Normale Supérieure, a prestigious French institution of higher education.

The Blaise Pascal Research Chairs were established in 1996 by the State and the Ile-de-France region. Each chair allows highly qualified, internationally acclaimed, foreign research scientists in all disciplines, accompanied if they wish by other research workers, to continue their work on a scientific project for a 12 month period that could be spread over two years in a higher learning institution or research institution in Paris/Ile-de-France.

Since its inception a number of famous scientists were the Blaise Pascal Chair laureates: Gérard Debreu (UC Berkeley, 1983 Nobel Prize in Economics), Ahmed Zewail (Caltech, 1999 Nobel Prize in Chemistry), Igor Mel'čuk (University of Montreal, the world leading researcher in linguistics), George Smoot (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, 2006 Nobel Prize in experimental Astrophysics), Robert Langlands (UBC, 1996 Wolf Prize, one of the most influential mathematicians of the 20th century), outstanding theoretical physicists Gabriele Veneziano (CERN/College de France), Alexander Zamolodchikov (Rutgers), and others.

The international chair is named after Blaise Pascal, a 17th century French mathematician, physicist, and religious philosopher who made important contributions to the construction of mechanical calculators, the study of fluids, and the concepts of pressure and vacuum.